smrisme

Abandonment issues

Posted on: September 16, 2012

So today I was doing some research on abandonment issues. I clearly have these issues and they have affected several relationships in my lifetime.

I believe abandonment issues are what has kept me in such an empty marriage for so long. I have a very real FEAR of being alone and I justify staying in my marriage because “it’s better than nothing” type logic.

In reading today I came across an interesting subject that insinuated infants who spent time in an incubator instead of in their parents touch at the beginning of life oftentimes exhibit abandonment issues. I had a lightbulb wonder moment as I was born a month premature and spent several days in an incubator when I was born.

Having abandonment issues sucks. It’s a fear of trusting people. It’s an inability to believe in people. It’s an automatic assumption people WILL hurt/leave you. It’s pessimism personified.

I know these issues are part of me and they are fixable. They have caused me to lose someone I love very much. I know I have things to work on inside myself and I can’t fix everything overnight, but I can surely hope to find the strength to learn a little more about “the real” me each day.

I am an incredible person. I deserve love, and I will find it again some day. I will find that person who never wants to leave me – starting with myself.

1 Response to "Abandonment issues"

This was a very powerful piece. We are all incredible, and we each deserve love. Good luck your journey of self discovery!

Leave a comment


  • None
  • smrisme: If she didn't know I was hurting that would be one thing, but she knows. She called earlier and heard me crying. Since then, no call, no text to check
  • foreverlostgirl23: I'd say don't let her get to you but, seems she already had. I'm sorry though your not alone. I hope things get better you can email me if u need to t
  • smrisme: I just fear a lack of human connection will make our generation unbelievably cold and out of touch

Categories