smrisme

Festivus

Posted on: January 7, 2013

Now that the kids are back to school it FINALLY feels like the holidays are truly over. For the most part they were good, low key, and full of new beginnings.

First was the tree… For the past seven years or so, I haven’t been “allowed” to get a real tree because my Ex felt that they were waste of money and he was too lazy to saw it into pieces to fit into our green waste can, as required by the city we live in. So, even though I took the fake tree with me when I left, I still got a real tree. Christina and I went to Home Depot to pick out a tree. There was a 8.5 foot tree in the 7 foot section for some reason and she told me to get it. It was wrapped in twine and I couldn’t see the shape, but she told me to have faith and just go with it. Of course, I couldn’t do such a thing. Me? Throw caution to the wind? Never. I had the guy clip the twine and she was right, the tree was perfect. We had the guy put it on top the car and drove home.

Now… ask yourself how two chicks are going to get an 8.5 foot tree off the car, into the house, into a stand and actually standing upright and straight? Like two clowns in a comedy is the answer. First, just taking it off of the car I dropped it, which landed on Christina’s thigh giving her a bruise like Robin Givens after Mike Tyson got a hold of her. Ooopsie… my bad. Then getting it into the stand we pretty much killed one another…. Vocally that is. However, in the end it all worked out and it was gorgimous as my mom would say. Note to self: real trees die fast, leave a mess behind and come with tons of bugs… EWWWWWW.

Christmas eve we went to Tracee’s house and did their gift exchange. It’s nice that they consider us family since I don’t really have one. We stayed there and then I dropped the kids off with my Ex since he demanded them as I kept them on Thanksgiving. He’s a douchebag and could have seen his kids on Thanksgiving, but he never asked and then wanted to use it against me later. Typical. Sitting alone on Xmas eve I couldn’t shake the feeling that waking up without my kids just didn’t feel right. Hello reality of divorce – thanks for smacking me in the face.

Christmas morning I drove to my ex’s house to watch the kids open their gifts from him. I wanted to see their reaction when they got the tablets he got for them (after telling me it was inappropriate for me to buy them tablets) After they were done I drove home and sulked at the idea of the kids not opening their gifts til December 27th as that was how long their dad planned on keeping them. I ended up driving to his house at 7pm, getting the kids, stopping by my sister’s house and then driving back home. The kids didn’t finish opening their gifts til 10:30 at night, but I didn’t care because at least it was Christmas!

I got a keychain pen from my daughter, a 5×7 picture frame from my niece and my ex gave me three camera items, yet they were all for Nikon cameras and I use a Canon…. Perfect example of why he is about to be my ex. Lame ass.

20130107-094935.jpg

Leave a comment


  • None
  • smrisme: If she didn't know I was hurting that would be one thing, but she knows. She called earlier and heard me crying. Since then, no call, no text to check
  • foreverlostgirl23: I'd say don't let her get to you but, seems she already had. I'm sorry though your not alone. I hope things get better you can email me if u need to t
  • smrisme: I just fear a lack of human connection will make our generation unbelievably cold and out of touch

Categories